Thoughts on books

The bedroom secrets of the Master Chefs by Irvine Welsh

Enter the world of over-indulgence and addiction. Alcohol, drugs, sex, violence, anger, hatred, fear whatever your poison, it is all here.

This book reminds me of Stephen King’s Thinner as well as Oscar Wilde’s A portrait of Dorain Gray, except here the reality is more grounded and therefore darker somehow.

When I finished this book, it felt like I had been taken on an expedition where the darkest, most vicious desires make their presence felt and they are fulfilled. It forces self examination of the kind you would not undertake ever.

It makes you wonder, what if I could convert my hatred and anger into actual weapons and deploy them to destroy actual lives. Though we have all hoped that this would happen at some point or another, hoped that looks could kill and wishes could come true, here is a book that takes these hopes and wishes to their macabre and scary conclusions.

But what I like most about the book is the way it renders true revenge completely useless and ineffective in its ability to resolve anything. It doesn’t preach, it doesn’t tell, it merely shows what could happen and leaves you to draw your own inferences.

The writing style is very different and not to my taste but I really liked the premise, the characters and the plot of this book.

Leave a comment